The Act prohibits all drivers from using text-based communications while operating a motor vehicle on any public highway in the state. The Act provides for acceptable text-based communications for public safety workers and similarly situated individuals, as well as for all drivers in certain circumstances. A violator of the Act’s provisions is subject to a fine of $150 and an assessment of one point on the violator’s driver’s license. The Act prohibits any driver under the age of eighteen who has an instruction permit or Class D license from using a cellular phone while operating a motor vehicle. It provides certain exceptions for safety reasons. The Act imposes a $150 fine and one point assessment on the violator’s license for each offense. If the minor driver is involved in an accident at the time of a violation of this Act, the fine is doubled.
Georgia State University Law Review
"MOTOR VEHICLES AND TRAFFIC Uniform Rules of the Road,"
Georgia State University Law Review: Vol. 27
, Article 9.
Available at: https://readingroom.law.gsu.edu/gsulr/vol27/iss1/9