Document Type

Peach Sheet


The Act changes the composition of the Georgia Public Telecommunications Commission, which was formerly composed of six members appointed by the Governor and three ex officio members. The ex officio members were the State School Superintendent, the Chancellor of the University System, and the Commissioner of Technical and Adult Education. The Act removes the three ex officio members and mandates that the Governor shall appoint all nine members of the Commission. The terms of office of the three new members appointed under the Act will begin on July 1, 2001, and expire on June 30, 2002. From that point forward, the terms of office of the appointed commissioners created under this Act will change to four years, as is the case for the six current appointed members. The terms of office of the current appointed members are already staggered such that two new members are appointed every two years. Thus, on July 1, 2001, the Governor will appoint the three new members created by the Act. On July 1, 2002 the Governor will appoint five new members. Then, on July 1, 2004, two new members will be appointed. Subsequently, every two years either five or two new members will be appointed, depending on whether the terms of office of the three appointed members created under the Act will expire that year.

Included in

Law Commons