The Act, called the "Georgia Minimum Wage Law," increases the minimum wage paid by employers to all covered employees. The increase from $3.25 per hour to $5.15 per hour brings the state minimum wage in line with the current federal minimum wage. The Act also adds an exemption for any individual who is employed by a nonprofit child-care institution or long-term care facility serving children or mentally disabled adults who are enrolled in such institutions and reside in residential facilities of the institution, if such employee resides in such facilities, receives without cost board and lodging from such institution, and is compensated on a cash basis at an annual rate of not less than $10,000. An additional exception provides that the law does not apply to employers who are subject to a minimum wage enacted by Congress if that minimum wage is higher than the wage states in O.C.G.A. § 34-4-3.
Georgia State University Law Review
"LABOR AND INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS Minimum Wages: Increase Hourly Amount; Provide for Exceptions; Provide for Related Matters,"
Georgia State University Law Review: Vol. 18
, Article 46.
Available at: https://readingroom.law.gsu.edu/gsulr/vol18/iss1/46